Judgement Mortgage

C

complicated

I would like to buy out my ex-husband's half of the house which is jointly owned. It will just be a matter of signing it over to my name.

There is a judgement mortgage on the house in relation to debts he hasn't paid off and currently can't afford to repay. Is it possible to transfer his equity into my name without me being liable to any of the debts.

The bank have told me that I can afford to take over his half but that the judgement would have to be discharged first.

I'm not sure if some sort of agreement could be drawn up with a solicitor that he has no further or future interest in the house and that he will take full liability for the judgement?

I am not an expert in these matters but I don't think you can revisit a judgement on a house or property quite like that.

I think the judgement must be cleared before the house can be transferred into your sole name - this seems to be the point of registering judgements against properties.

However the normal course of events is that if a sale occurs the proceeds from the sale go to pay off the judgement.

There must be some mechanism for this to occur since the property is an asset which may have to be sold to clear the judgement mortgage.

So long as the amount you are paying your ex for his half exceeds the amount of the judgement, there should be some way of sorting this out.

I am happy to stand corrected on this matter.

ONQ.

"It will just be a matter of signing it over to my name."

It won't.

"Is it possible to transfer his equity into my name without me being liable to any of the debts."

No.

"The bank have told me that I can afford to take over his half but that the judgement would have to be discharged first."

They are telling you both to get rid of the judgment mortgage before they will deal with any transfer.