Lava rocks for BBQ

Sarah

Prob a stupid question but im a BBQ newbie. Just bought a BBQ in B&Q. I keep hearing about lava rocks but firstly im not sure what they are or where to put them and secondly, do you need them in order to operate a Gas BBQ. The guy in B&Q never mentioned anything. Can anyone help? Thanks

Lava rocks are what gas BBQs use instead of charcoal nuggets used in other BBQs. See these pictures:

Gas BBQs normally come with them. If your one did not then you may have to buy them separately.

clubman - so there a necessity i presume? Surprised they never mentioned it when i was buying the BBQ! i THOUGHT THE GAS FLAME DID THE COOKING NOT ROCKS!:)

Some gas BBQ's dont need them as they have "diffuser" plates instead. Give B&Q a ring to check which yours is.

Thanks for the replies...i thought id ask here before i rang B&Q and sounded a bit stupid! Rang B&Q just there and was told that their BBQ's their stocking this year dont take lava rocks and they are not necessary as the food cooks perfectly without them and the lava rock is only for aroma! WOuld this be correct?

Thanks a mill by the way!

I would imagine that the BBQ either needs rocks or it doesn't. If it does then it's not just for aroma but for cooking the food. If they are optional for some types of BBQ then perhaps they are for aroma only.

On my Outback gas BBQ you blast the rocks out of it with heat, then turn the gas right down to the lowest, and then put your food on. You get horrible black burns with little cooking of the food if the gas hits it.

Thanks for the replies...i thought id ask here before i rang B&Q and sounded a bit stupid! Rang B&Q just there and was told that their BBQ's their stocking this year dont take lava rocks and they are not necessary as the food cooks perfectly without them and the lava rock is only for aroma! WOuld this be correct?

Thanks a mill by the way!