Withdrawing Cash In USA - Credit Card or ATM/Cirrus?

R

rachel

Wondering the best method of withdrawing cash in the USA, I have a mastercard which is credited and a maestro card- also credited.

Re: Withdrawing Cash In USA

I have always used my ATM card. Once it has a cirrus symbol on the back you should be able to use it. My current maestro card has a "link" symbol on it. I only have it a while so I'm not sure if thats the same thing.

my concerns are the charges! There's money in both accounts so which would be better to use?

That depends entirely on who your card issuer is - every bank is different so you'll have to contact them.

On your cc - ask if you have to pay interest from date of withdrawal even if in credit and also ask if you have to pay cash withdrawal fees, again, even if in credit.

Was in the States a couple of weeks ago & withdrew money from both my BOI Mastercard & Laser/Cirrus card. The laser card has a higher fee but a better rate that the Mastercard.

Mastercard was slightly cheaper i.e about 2 euro on a withdrawl of 300 dollars.

I find preloading my PTSB VISA card with cash and making cash withdrawals (not advances which attract high interest charges immediately) is the cheapest way to access cash outside the € zone. The only charge is a 1.75% forex charge built into their exchange rate. In contrast [broken link removed] (via their ATM/Laser card) charges 3.5% subject to a minimum of €3.17 and a maximum of €11.43. I think that forex charges might be in addition to these charges. To reduce the charges below 3.5% you need to start withdrawing more than €327 at a time (i.e. €11.43 / 3.5 * 100 =~ €327).